Principal Investigator

Prof. Arnold

Michael S. Arnold


Department of Materials Science and Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
1509 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706


Mike S. Arnold is a Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at UW-Madison. He earned a B.S. in Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign before completing a Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern University and postdoctoral research in Electrical Engineering and Physics at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. His research interests include all things graphene, from novel synthesis techniques to fabrication of next-generation nanoelectronics. In his free time, he enjoys running, hiking, eating Babcock Dairy quadruple scoops, and spending time with his wife and children.


Tel: (608) 262-3863
Fax: (608) 262-8353
Email: michael.arnoldatwiscdotedu
Additional contact information...

Education and Experience

- Postdoctoral Researcher in Electronic Engineering & Physics,
University of Michigan (advised by Prof. Stephen Forrest)
- Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering, Northwestern University (advised by Prof. Samuel I. Stupp and Prof. Mark C. Hersam)
- IBM Research, TJ Watson Research Laboratory (advised by Dr. Phaedon Avouris)
- B.S. in Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (advised by Prof. Joseph Lyding)

Honors and Awards

- Beckwith-Bascom Professorship, UW-Madison (2019-present)
- Early Career Alumni Award, Northwestern University (2019)
- Charles W. Tobias Young Investigator Award, The Electrochemical Society (2018)
- Nanocarbons SES Research Young Investigator Award, The Electrochemical Society Nanocarbons Division (2018)
- U.S. ASPIRE Competition Runner-Up, U.S. Department of State (2017)
- H.I. Romnes Faculty Fellowship, UW-Madison (2017-2018)
- Honored Instructor Awards, UW-Madison University Housing (2016)
- Nominated for and elected to the Executive Committee of the Nanocarbons Division, The Electrochemical Society (2016-present)
- Harvey D. Spangler Faculty Fellowship, UW-Madison (2015)
- UW-Madison Vilas Associates Award (2015)
- National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2014)
- Dr. Brenda Pfaehler Award of Excellence, Center for Education
Opportunity, UW-Madison (2013)
- Arthur K. Doolittle Award in Polymeric Materials Science and
Engineering, American Chemical Society (2012)
- Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (2011)
- U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Early Career
Research Award
- 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award (2011, 2012, 2013)
- International Institute for Nanotechnology 10th Anniversary
Outstanding Manuscript Award for a Top-5 Manuscript in
Nanotechnology for the 2000-2010 Decade
- Northwestern University Hilliard Memorial Symposium Award (2006)
- ASEE National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship
- National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship (2001)
- Walter P. Murphy Fellowship, Northwestern University (2001)
- Bronze-Tablet University Honor and James Scholar, University of
Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2001)